## On behalf of the Heart of the South West

Cllr John Osman, Leader Somerset County Council County Hall Taunton TA1 4DY JDOsman@somerset.gov.uk 01823 359018

4 September 2015

For the attention of:

The Rt Hon George Osborne MP Chancellor of the Exchequer

The Rt Hon Greg Clark MP Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government

Dear Sirs

## Heart of the South West Devolution – Statement of Intent

Our Statement of Intent, from all Heart of the South West local authorities, our National Parks and the Heart of the South West Local Enterprise Partnership, represents a significant milestone for our area. We are united in our ambition to pursue a new relationship with Government that will rebalance powers, and give us greater freedom to shape our own destiny. In return, the Heart of the South West will deliver a step change in its contribution to the prosperity of the nation, fulfilling the enormous potential of our area.

Our highest priority is to raise productivity levels and skills so that we have an economy that performs alongside the best. A thriving economy will provide jobs, services and life opportunities our residents deserve, and address the low wage economy.

We are known for our self-sufficiency, self-help strategies and working together to deliver better outcomes for our communities. We are convinced that the key to success is greater autonomy and devolved powers have the potential to revolutionise the way we operate. We

know and understand our communities and we ask for the opportunity to demonstrate that locally tailored approaches are not only more effective, but can also generate savings.

The cornerstone of our proposal is a package of measures to accelerate economic growth by re-engineering the whole system, from careers advice to apprenticeships, business support to major investment.

Our second opportunity is around continuing to integrate commissioning between health, social care and wellbeing across our communities, at pace, to meet local needs. We want to learn from each other to transform services across the whole of the Heart of the South West. As the most significant and growing proportion of public sector spend it is absolutely crucial that we are given the freedom to implement new approaches that reduce demand, deal with complex needs, and ensure early intervention and prevention are at the heart of what we do.

Our third theme is physical infrastructure, including developing greater resilience, for example in flood and coastal defence, and creating confidence through longer term investment programmes for transport and housing.

This is a balanced and coherent set of proposals that will bring substantial benefits to the Heart of the South West and the nation. Whilst our proposals are fiscally neutral, we also call on the Government for the opportunity to jointly review national funding formulas to ensure that our baseline reflects a fairer distribution of public money.

We have a shared commitment and the capability to deliver. We are eager to start a dialogue with Government, open a new chapter and build a strong and productive relationship.

We have collectively agreed a set of principles to underpin our statement and these will also shape the governance and accountability that will be required to administer new devolved powers. We are determined to take up the Government's invitation and negotiate an ambitious deal.

We invite you to work with us and explore the national opportunity offered by devolution for the Heart of the South West.

Yours sincerely

Peter Harper

Chairman of Dartmoor National Park

Cllr John Hart

Leader of Devon County Council

Cllr Paul Diviani

Leader of East Devon District Council

**Cllr Peter Edwards** 

Leader of Exeter City Council

Andrea Davis

Chairman of Exmoor National Park

Slenthof

Steve Hindley

Chair of the Heart of the South West Local Enterprise Partnership

Cllr Harvey Siggs

Leader of Mendip District Council

Cllr Clive Eginton

Cle J. Egut.

Leader of Mid Devon District Council

Cllr Des Brailey MBE

Leader of North Devon District Council

**Cllr Tudor Evans** 

Leader of Plymouth City Council

Duncon hoghly.

Cllr Duncan McGinty Leader of Sedgemoor District Council

Cllr John Osman

Leader of Somerset County Council

Cllr John Tucker

Leader of South Hams District Council

Cllr Ric Pallister

Leader of South Somerset District Council

Cllr John Williams

Leader of Taunton Deane Borough Council

Cllr Jeremy Christophers Leader of Teignbridge District Council

Gordon Oliver

Mayor of Torbay Council

Soder Oldis

Saue Whittaker

Cllr Jane Whittaker

Leader of Torridge District Council

Cllr Philip Sanders

Leader of West Devon Borough Council

Cllr Anthony Trollope-Bellew

Leader of West Somerset Council